General Washington Insurance Guidelines
The State of Washington currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance.
Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle.
Minimum Liability Coverage in Washington
The State of Washington minimum liability amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 total property damage per accident.
These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting
more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits tend not to keep pace with the ever increasing
costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their
policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a
driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto
insurance. Washington does not require
Some states have “No-Fault” laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without
proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by
other parties. Washington is not a
SR-22 Requirements for Washington
An SR-22 form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver
has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to
reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without
insurance. Washington requires
an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.